So Much For The Afterglow 180G LP (SHIPPING NOW!) – Intervention Records

So Much For The Afterglow 180G LP (SHIPPING NOW!)


Original Release Date: 1997
Original Label: Capitol

  • Remastered From High-Res Archives For The First Time
  • Mastered By Kevin Gray At CoHEARent Audio
  • Plated and Processed at RTI
  • Ultra-Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed at GOTTA GROOVE RECORDS
  • Beautiful Old-Style "Tip-On" Gatefold Printed By Stoughton

Free Shipping on all US orders over $175 via USPS Media Mail  

Billboard's Modern Rock Artist of the Year 1998

Three Top Five Hits: Everything to Everyone, I Will Buy You a New Life, Father of Mine

The very title of 1997’s So Much for the Afterglow announced that Everclear would address head on the swelling expectations established by the breakout success of 1995’s Sparkle and Fade. The tunes sketch out this theme completely, with songs like “One Hit Wonder,” “White Men in Black Suits,” and of course the title track, “So Much for the Afterglow.”

So Much for the Afterglow is the rare follow-up that bested the original in both critical acclaim and sales, going double platinum, yielding three top-five hits and landing the band a Billboard Modern Rock Artist of the Year award in 1998.

Everclear remains one of the few elite acts to emerge from the post-Nirvana grunge explosion, rockers that could not only match the crunch and aggression of Seattle’s finest, but the hooks and emotional honesty. Everclear’s Art Alexakis wrote songs that were a mature but hard rocking brand of power pop with gritty, achingly true lyrics about addiction, failed relationships and loneliness.

Side 1

  • 1
    So Much For The Afterglow
  • ▎▎
    Everything To everyone
  • 3
  • 4
    Normal Like You
  • 5
    I Will Buy You a New Life
  • ▎▎
    Father Of Mine
  • 7
    One Hit Wonder

Side 2

  • 1
    El Distorto De Melodica
  • 2
  • 3
    White Men In Black Suits
  • 4
  • 5
    Why I Don't Believe In God
  • 6
    Like A California King

Mastering Notes

Everclear’s So Much For the Afterglow was captured on analog master tapes, but never fully assembled in the analog domain. That means choosing the final mixes, sequencing, crossfades, etc. was performed only in the digital domain, which in a real sense means no analog master exists of the final album. Universal archived the original tapes in high-resolution digital and supplied IR with specially prepared flat 24-bit/96kHz files for compatibility with CoHEARent Audio’s 24-bit capable Pacific Microsonics D-A conversion system and what notes were available regarding which files contained final mixes, sound effects, crossfades, etc. CoHEARent’s Kevin Gray and IR’s Shane Buettner then spent painstaking hours running down the title comparing the files to the original Capitol LP to ensure final mixes and sequencing, crossfades, sound effects and properly space the time between tracks. Sonically, So Much For The Afterglow is now better than ever before, with true timbres and textures, a much more expansive soundstage, no dynamic limiting/compression, and unsurpassed musicality and listenability. A ‘90s alt rock classic brought to new life!

Release Notes

  • Format: 180-Gram Single 33 Pressed at GOTTA GROOVE RECORDS
  • Jacket: Old-Style Single-Pocket Gatefold Printed by Stoughton
  • IR Catalog: IR-007
  • UPC: 684334915607
  • Original Label: Capitol
  • Original Release Date: 1997

The Lost 90's Series

A prime directive at IR is bringing music from the dark days of the 1990s CD era to glorious new life on premium vinyl. So much fantastic music from this era either never saw a vinyl release, or saw only a very limited and all too often low-quality release ripped from CDs without much care. During that era even if the original capture was analog the music was ripped to digital and loaded into workstations for final editing, mixing, sequencing and final assembly. If vinyl was released during this era it is more than likely sourced from CD files. For releases that were never assembled in analog or were fully-digital recordings, IR acquires and masters from the best source files available, and if needed assembles final mixes, cross-fades, etc. during mastering. The increase in musicality and purity is as exponential! Combining superior master sources with the truly full-range, ultra-transparent mastering chains at studios like CoHEARent Audio and Sterling Sound, our dead quiet 180G vinyl pressings results in hearing the music that is the soundtrack to our lives like never before!