Judee Sill 180G LP (SHIPPING NOW!) – Intervention Records

Judee Sill 180G LP (SHIPPING NOW!)


Original Release Date: 1971
Original Label: Asylum Records

  • 100% Analog Mastering FROM THE ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES!
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray At CoHEARent Audio
  • Double 45 RPM LPs for Extreme Sound Quality
  • Ultra-Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed At Gotta GROOVE
  • Plating and Pressing by RTI
  • Beautiful Old-Style "Tip-On" Gatefold Printed By Stoughton

Free Shipping on all US orders over $175 via USPS Media Mail  

"Rapturous and otherworldly." -Rolling Stone

"... it's hard to suppress the inner light of Sill's work. It shines." -Pitchfork

The astonishing Judee Sill was the first artist signed to David Geffen’s Asylum Records, and Judee Sill the first album released on the label. Sill’s music is intensely spiritual, redolent of both mysticism and divine imagery, yet grounded by great songwriting and a pure but powerful singing talent. Her songs impart incredible intimacy that is enhanced and not diminished by her sometimes complex string/orchestral arrangements (remarkably Sill arranged and conducted the strings/orchestra on her albums!).

Sill’s life was tragic personally and professionally. Her father and brother were killed when Sill was young, and her tempestuous relationship with her alcoholic (and remarried) mother resulted in her leaving home at 15. She committed robberies and began a battle she was destined to lose against drug addiction. When stardom didn’t follow the critical acclaim of these two albums her career never recovered. Sill was dead in 1979 at just 35. The brevity of Judee’s musical legacy is vastly outweighed by the emotional power in these two extraordinary albums.

Side 1

  • 1
    Crayon Angels
  • 2
    The Phantom Cowboy
  • 3
    The Archetypal Man

Side 2

  • 1
    The Lamb Ran Away With the Crown
  • 2
  • 3
    Jesus Was a Crossmaker

Side 3

  • 1
    Ridge Rider
  • 2
    My Man On Love

Side 4

  • 1
    Lopin' Along Thru The Cosmos
  • 2
    Enchanted Sky Machines
  • 3

Mastering Notes

Judee Sill and Heart Food were 100% Analog Mastered directly from the original analog master tapes by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio. The master tapes are in fine shape, and listeners will be blown away by the increased inner detail and three-dimensionality of these achingly gorgeous recordings. These new Intervention reissues represent THE definitive listening experience for these classic LPs!

Release Notes

  • IR Catalog:: IR-016
  • Format:: 180-Gram Double 45s Pressed at GOTTA GROOVE
  • Jacket:: Old-Style "Tip-On" Gatefold Jacket Printed By Stoughton on Heavy Stock
  • UPC: 707129301406

The (Re)Discover Series

You know those songs that come up on the radio when you’re driving and you crank up the volume to 11 and sing your lungs out? That's the spirit of what Intervention's (Re)Discover Series is all about! Taking these FM classics and presenting them in "like you've never heard it before" sound quality so you can get that same blast of energy and excitement on your hi-fi at home. The hallmark of this series will be 100% analog mastering from real analog tapes. Combining superior master sources with the truly full-range, ultra-transparent mastering chains at studios like CoHEARent Audio and Sterling Sound, our dead quiet 180G vinyl pressings means that you'll hear these FM staples with power, majesty and musical detail like it’s the first time. (Re)Discover these sonic treasures with us!