Joe Jackson Generations 4-LP Bundle – Intervention Records

Joe Jackson Generations 4-LP Bundle


Original Release Date: 1979-2000
Original Label: A&M Records, Sony Classical

  • Bundle Featuring Intervention's Joe Jackson Look Sharp!, I'm The Man, Night & Day and Summer In the City 180G LPs!
  • First Time on Vinyl for Summer in the City!
  • Look Sharp, I'm the Man and Night & Day 100% Analog Mastered
  • Summer In the City Remastered From Original High-Res Masters For The First Time!
  • Mastering by Kevin Gray and Ryan K. Smith
  • Ultra-Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed At RTI
  • Beautifully Restored "Old-Style" Album Art Printed By Stoughton

Free Shipping on all US orders over $150 via USPS Media Mail  

Astonishingly released within months of each other, Jackson's 1979 debut album Look Sharp! and I'm the Man are tight and inspired sets of power-pop that feature some of Jackson’s best and most timeless tunes. Radio classics from these two albums include, "Is She Really Going Out With Him?," "Sunday Papers," “On Your Radio,” “Kinda Kute,” and “It's Different For Girls.” Remarkably, this was the last album Jackson would make in this new-wave vein for over 20 years.

Joe Jackson went to New York looking for new inspirations and sounds, and found his greatest commercial and critical success with Night and Day, an album redolent of the glitz and glamour of the city. These superbly crafted and arranged pop songs are inspired by the grandeur of Cole Porter and George Gershwin, and confidently infused with elements of jazz, swing and salsa. A genre-jumping crossover hit that virtually no one who heard the edgy power-pop of Jackson’s first 1979 efforts- Look Sharp! and I’m the Man- could ever claim to have seen coming. Perhaps the fearless Jackson’s finest hour in the studio.

Summer in the City's repertoire is an amazing bridge that spans the greatest hits of Jackson's early canon with stunning new arrangements and covers of other great songwriters. Jackson classics like "Fools in Love," "You Can't Get What You Want" and "It's Different for Girls" meet with covers as diverse as Duke Ellington's "Mood Indigo," The Beatles' "Eleanor Rigby" and Steely Dan's "King of the World."

Mastering Notes

Look Sharp!, I'm the Man and Night and Day are sourced from the best-sounding analog tapes currently available, beautifully preserved ½” “safety copies” of the original stereo masters. We were able to maintain the grungy "New Wave" edge of the original LPs, but also restore the driving bass lines and bottom-end foundation on these tapes. The result is the best-sounding versions of Look Sharp! and I'm the Man anyone's ever heard, with all the drive and pop of the original UK releases, but with superb tonal balance, imaging and clarity. The definitive issues of these iconic New Wave classics! Summer in the City was mastered to vinyl by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio from newly-compiled high-res master files. Summer in the City was recorded live in New York City in August of 1999 by Steve Remote and Co-Producer Sheldon Steiger. Sony's archivists and Battery Studios' Mike Piacentini compiled new high-res digital master files from the original DATs with the final mixes, and IR consulted with Remote and Steiger on key aspects of the recording to ensure the best possible source files were used. The result is an absolute sonic stunner, brought to new life on this double LP set!

The (Re)Discover Series

You know those songs that come up on the radio when you’re driving and you crank up the volume to 11 and sing your lungs out? That’s the spirit of what Intervention’s (Re)Discover Series is all about! Taking these FM classics and presenting them in "like you’ve never heard it before" sound quality so you can get that same blast of energy and excitement on your hi-fi at home. The hallmark of this series will be 100% analog mastering from real analog tapes. Combining superior master sources with the truly full-range mastering chain at Cohearent Audio and RTI’s dead quiet vinyl pressing means that you’ll hear these FM staples with power, majesty and musical detail like it’s the first time. (Re)Discover these sonic treasures with us!