JJ LIMITED 180G VINYL Bundle (PRE-ORDER NOW!) – Intervention Records



Original Release Date: 1984 & 2000
Original Label: A&M, Sony Classics

  • Remastered from Digital Archives by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio
  • Ultra-Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed At Gotta Groove Records
  • Beautiful Old-Style "Tip-On" Gatefold Jacket Printed By Stoughton
  • Album Art Restored by Tom Vadakan

Free Shipping on all US orders over $150 via USPS Media Mail  

"Daring in range, startling in craft, Body and Soul put to bed forever the idea that Joe Jackson was just another punk." -Something Else!

Intervention Records is thrilled to announce that two Joe Jackson classics are returning to 180G Summer in the City Live in New York (IR-018, $45) and Body and Soul (IR-030, $50). Both titles will be pressed at Gotta Groove Records, and relased in March, 2023. GGR has a tight production schedule that we can count on!

For a limited time we're offering a $15 discount for the bundle with both LP sets! Don't delay, RESERVE YOUR COPIES NOW!

Summer in the City's repertoire is an amazing bridge that spans the greatest hits of Jackson's early canon with stunning new arrangements and covers from other great songwriters. Jackson classics like "Fools in Love," "You Can't Get What You Want" and "It's Different for Girls" meet with covers as diverse as Duke Ellington's "Mood Indigo," The Beatles' "Eleanor Rigby" and Steely Dan's "King of the World."

Body and Soul is Joe Jackson's jazz-infused followup to his 1982 smash Night and Day. It features two of Joe's most cherished compositions, "You Can't Get What You Want (Till You Know What You Want)" and "Be My Number Two."

Body and Soul's original PCM digital files are remastered by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio, and cut to double 45 RPM vinyl for maximum dynamics and fidelity. The results are STUNNING! Body and Soul has never sounded so big, full-bodied and dynamically explosive. The reverberant space of the hall is beautifully drawn, and more three-dimensional and holographic than ever!

"Summer in the City" was remastered to vinyl and simultaneously to DSD by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio from newly-compiled high-res PCM master files. "Summer in the City" was originally recorded live in New York City in August of 1999 by Steve Remote and Co-Producer Sheldon Steiger. Sony's archivists and Battery Studios' Mike Piacentini compiled new high-res digital master files from the original DATs with the final mixes, and IR consulted with Remote and Steiger on key aspects of the recording to ensure the best possible source files were used. The result is an absolute sonic stunner, a thoroughly immersive trip back in time to that August night in New York, brought to vibrant new life on vinyl and this AMAZING CD/SACD!

Release Notes

  • IR Catalog: IR-018 & IR-030
  • Format: 180G Vinyl
  • UPCs: 707129301420 & 707129301529

The (Re)Discover Series

You know those songs that come up on the radio when you’re driving and you crank up the volume to 11 and sing your lungs out? That's the spirit of what Intervention's (Re)Discover Series is all about! Taking these FM classics and presenting them in "like you've never heard it before" sound quality so you can get that same blast of energy and excitement on your hi-fi at home. The hallmark of this series will be 100% analog mastering from real analog tapes. Combining superior master sources with the truly full-range, ultra-transparent mastering chains at studios like CoHEARent Audio and Sterling Sound, our dead quiet 180G vinyl pressings means that you'll hear these FM staples with power, majesty and musical detail like it’s the first time. (Re)Discover these sonic treasures with us!