Girlfriend Expanded Edition 180G LP (AWAITING REPRESS) – Intervention Records

Girlfriend Expanded Edition 180G LP (AWAITING REPRESS)


Original Release Date: 1991
Original Label: Zoo Entertainment

  • 100% Analog Mastering from the ORIGINAL MASTER TAPES!
  • Artist-Approved 2X LP Expanded Edition!
  • 6 Bonus Tracks Not Included On Original Vinyl Release!
  • Mastering By Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Ultra-Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed at Gotta Groove Records
  • Plated and Processed at RTI
  • Beautifully Restored "Old Style" Gatefold Jacket Printed by Stoughton

Free Shipping on all US orders over $175 via USPS Media Mail  

"Matthew Sweet's third album is a remarkable artistic breakthrough ... thanks to his exceptional songwriting, the album is a fresh, original interpretation of a classic sound." - Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

"... the holy grail of power pop." -Tiny Mix Tapes

This is the vinyl release Matthew Sweet’s 1991 classic has always deserved and the best Girlfriend you’ll ever have … Matthew Sweet’s essential 1991 power-pop tour-de-force gets its analog due on Intervention’s Expanded Edition 180-Gram Double-LP release!

Girlfriend’s original 1991 LP release was a single LP that simply excised the last three songs that were included on the original 15-track CD release. Those three tracks were a tremendous loss as the song’s final, elegiac track “Nothing Lasts” was considered as the title track.

Intervention’s amazing Double LP Expanded Edition restores the original 15-song repertoire to three vinyl sides for maximum bass and dynamics. Side D includes three demo tracks- “Good Friend,” “Superdeformed” and “Teenage Female.”

Girlfriend’s album art was lovingly restored by Intervention’s Art Director Tom Vadakan, and printed as a gorgeous “Old Style” gatefold by Stoughton printing in LA. It’s printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels were printed by Dorado.

Side A

  • 1
    Divine Intervention
  • 2
    I've Been Waiting
  • 3
  • 4
    Looking At The Sun
  • 5

Side B

  • 1
  • 2
    Day For Night
  • 3
    Thought I Knew You
  • 4
    You Don't Love Me
  • 5
    I Wanted To Tell You

Side C

  • 1
    Don't Go
  • 2
    Your Sweet Voice
  • 3
    Does She Talk?
  • 4
    Holy War
  • 5
    Nothing Lasts

Side D Bonus Tracks

  • 1
    Good Friend (Demo)
  • 2
    Superdeformed (Demo)
  • 3
    Teenage Female (Demo)

Mastering Notes

15 of the 18 tracks on this 2x LP Expanded Edition are 100% Analog Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The last three tracks are Matthew Sweet's own demo recordings made to DAT and therefore cut from digital files from the DAT masters. Girlfriend's original 1991 LP release was a single LP that simply excised the last three songs that were included on the 15-track CD release. Intervention's cut expands the original 15-song repertoire to three vinyl sides for maximum bass and dynamics. There are big, fat guitar tones and controlled but very expressive bass and a massive soundstage. Girlfriend is not only a 90's classic but an amazingly pure and simply tremendous rock recording!

Release Notes

  • Format: 2x 180-Gram 33-RPM LPs
  • IR Catalog: IR-021
  • UPC: 707129301451
  • Jacket: "Old Style" Gatefold Printed at Stoughton on Heavy Stock, Film Laminated

The Lost 90's Series

A prime directive at IR is bringing music from the dark days of the 1990s CD era to glorious new life on premium vinyl. So much fantastic music from this era either never saw a vinyl release, or saw only a very limited and all too often low-quality release ripped from CDs without much care. During that era even if the original capture was analog the music was ripped to digital and loaded into workstations for final editing, mixing, sequencing and final assembly. If vinyl was released during this era it is more than likely sourced from CD files. For releases that were never assembled in analog or were fully-digital recordings, IR acquires and masters from the best source files available, and if needed assembles final mixes, cross-fades, etc. during mastering. The increase in musicality and purity is as exponential! Combining superior master sources with the truly full-range, ultra-transparent mastering chains at studios like CoHEARent Audio and Sterling Sound, our dead quiet 180G vinyl pressings results in hearing the music that is the soundtrack to our lives like never before!