The Gilded Palace of Sin CD/SACD (SHIPPING NOW!) – Intervention Records

The Gilded Palace of Sin CD/SACD (SHIPPING NOW!)


Original Release Date: 1969
Original Label: A&M Records

  • Mastered Direct-to-DSD From Real Analog Tapes!
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray At CoHEARent Audio
  • Hybrid CD/SACD Plays On All CD and SACD Players
  • Super Jewel Box Packaging

Free Shipping on all US orders over $150 via USPS Media Mail  

#192 Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums of All Time

Rolling Stone's 100 Best Debut Albums of All Time

"As a songwriter, Parsons delivered some of his finest work on this set; "Hot Burrito No. 1" and "Hot Burrito No. 2" both blend the hurt of classic country weepers with a contemporary sense of anger, jealousy, and confusion … no one ever brought rock and country together quite like The Flying Burrito Bros. and this album remains their greatest accomplishment."All Music Guide

Is this the album that made country cool? Former Byrds Gram Parsons and Chris Hillman picked up where they left off with Sweetheart of the Rodeo with this stunning masterpiece of a debut album by The Flying Burrito Bros. While Parsons had already pushed rock in a country direction during his brief stint with The Byrds and The International Submarine Band, The Gilded Palace of Sin is why the Burritos are widely viewed as the inventors of country rock. Indeed with this album, Hillman and Parsons carved a substantial place in music history as one of the most influential albums and bands of all time.


  • 1
    Christine's Tune
  • 2
    Sin City
  • 3
    Do Right Woman
  • 4
    Dark End of the Street
  • 5
    My Uncle
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
    Hot Burrito #1
  • 9
    Hot Burrito #2
  • 10
    Do You Know How It Feels
  • 11
    Hippie Boy

Mastering Notes

The Gilded Palace of Sin was 100% Analog Mastered by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio from the best source available- a phenomenal sounding 1/2" safety copy of the original stereo master tapes. All of the top-end energy and “snap” of the original A&M LP is preserved, while the bass foundation is fully restored to make this new Intervention reissue the definitive listening experience for this classic LP! The hybrid SACD was mastered directly from analog tape to DSD.

Release Notes

  • Format: Hybrid CD/SACD Compatible with All CD and SACD Players
  • IR catalog:: IR-SCD3
  • UPC:: 707129301383

The (Re)Discover Series

You know those songs that come up on the radio when you’re driving and you crank up the volume to 11 and sing your lungs out? That’s the spirit of what Intervention’s (Re)Discover Series is all about! Taking these FM classics and presenting them in "like you’ve never heard it before" sound quality so you can get that same blast of energy and excitement on your hi-fi at home. The hallmark of this series will be 100% analog mastering from real analog tapes. Combining superior master sources with the truly full-range mastering chain at Cohearent Audio and RTI’s dead quiet vinyl pressing means that you’ll hear these FM staples with power, majesty and musical detail like it’s the first time. (Re)Discover these sonic treasures with us!